CACTASMANIA 2024

As in previous shows collectors came looking for the unusual and special plant, we again had sellers lined up from the entry to around the corner and into Bilton Street, well before opening time.

The professional stalls provided by the resellers were covered with numerous options and in solid numbers.

The crowds over the two days were a little down on previous shows, but this was expected considering the difficult economic times we are all experiencing.

Despite this, resellers were happy with their outcomes, the CFSG were pleased with the financial outcome, allowing us to continue to improve our three shows through marketing, allocation of prizes and the like.

The committee would like to acknowledge the support we received from Andrew Wilkie, Sue Hickey and the City of Glenorchy, Simon Behrakis and Craig Farrell for the show.

We would also like to acknowledge the wonderful contribution of Luke Fualks, Tibball's General Manager and his staff for the plants provided for our trade table, and Steve Kavalas, proprietor of Horticultural and Landscape Supplies who is another longtime supporter of our shows.

We are also very appreciative to our two wonderful trade table experts, Maree Johnson and Rhyll Cashion for their generous contribution over the weekend.

A special mention to Scott Bell for his great work setting up the exhibition which again drew great patronage and comments.

Competition Winners:

Section 1 Cactus Clumping: Jessica Parsons

Section 2 Cactus Column and Epiphytes: Khyle Ashcroft

Section 3 Arrangements: Jessica Parsons

Section 5 Succulents Crassulaceae: Paul Vu

Section 6 Succulents All Others: Paul Vu

Section 7 Childrens Section: Jing Wei

Stallholder's Award: Scott Bell

The Colin Drake Perpetual Trophy for the Best Overall entry was won by Jessica Parsons.

This was an outstanding effort as Jessica was a first-time entrant. She was thrilled with her success and will certainly be an exhibitor into the future.

Raffle Winners:

First prize:	Tom
Second Prize:	Jane Guy
Third Prize:	Jing Wei
Fourth Prize:	John Fikerle
Fifth Prize:	Leila Franklin
Sixth Prize:	W. Elkil

Monitor our <u>website</u> for all the latest news on our shows, etc.